Dan Dalrymple

Dan Dalrymple

New Orleans Saints

The efforts of Dan Dalrymple and his staff have played a key role in the club’s success over the past 13 seasons. His routines, focused on building and maintaining strength and stamina while minimizing injuries, have paid dividends for the Saints. Since 2006, New Orleans has put together 14 winning streaks of three games or more, including a franchise-record 13-game win streak in 2009, eight-game winning streaks in 2011 and 2107 and a ten- game winning streak in 2018. Also during this time the Saints have won more than 13 games in a season three times, made the play offs 7 times and advanced to the NFC Championship game 3 times. 24 players have been selected to the Pro Bowl during his tenure, 18 for the first time in their careers.

Throughout his tenure, Dalrymple’s teams have traditionally finished strong. In 2009’s Super Bowl XLIV Championship season, evidence of the conditioning of the club was their stamina throughout games, as they outscored opponents 139-48 in the fourth quarter, finishing first in the NFL in both points scored and allowed in the final period. He was named as the recipient of the Cybex Professional Strength and Conditioning Coach of the Year award by the Professional Football Strength and Conditioning Coaches Society and the Samson Strength and Conditioning NFL Coach of the Year award from American Football Monthly. After the 2018 Season Dalrymple was again named Professional Strength and Conditioning Coach of the Year award by the Professional Football Strength and Conditioning Coaches Association, making him one of only two NFL Head Strength Coaches to win this award more than once.

Prior to joining the Saints, Dalrymple spent the previous 17 seasons in a similar capacity at Miami University (Ohio), including the last 16 as director of athletic conditioning, a program he built from its foundation. While the football team was a focus of his efforts, Dalrymple and his staff created workout regimens for every athletic program. He was promoted with the additional title of assistant athletic director in 2003. At Miami, he was a coaching colleague of Saints Head Coach Sean Payton from 1994-95.

Dalrymple has been certified by the National Strength & Conditioning Association since 1991 and has been honored as a finalist for the organization’s coach of the year in 1995, 1997, 1999, 2003 and 2006. He’s one of only three NFL coaches in his field to be certified by the Collegiate Strength & Conditioning Coaches Association as a Master Strength & Conditioning Coach.

Dalrymple has earned two certifications for USA Weightlifting that designate him as qualified to work with athletes in Olympic weightlifting and as a sports performance specialist.

After taking over the supervision of Miami’s strength and conditioning program in 1989, the football program posted a 116-72-9 record, had a streak of 12-straight winning seasons and went to bowl games in 2003 and 2004.

For the Saints, Dalrymple couples his intense work ethic and a constant evolution of his approach with a lengthy background in football.

A 1988 graduate of Miami, Dalrymple was a four-year starter (1983-86) as an offensive lineman and was a first-team All-MAC selection his final two seasons, also earning honorable mention All-America accolades. He was one of three captains of the 1986 conference champion team. Dalrymple was later honored as one of five linemen on the Cincinnati Enquirer’s All-20th Century Miami football team and was elected to the school’s Hall of Fame in 2002.

After his college career and attending training camp with the Seattle Seahawks, Dalrymple returned to his alma mater as a student assistant coach in 1987. He served as a graduate assistant the following year before being promoted to offensive line and strength coach in 1989. He was named strength & conditioning coordinator in December of that year.

In 2011, Dalrymple co-authored his first book, “The Athletic Body Puzzle-The Guide For Parents And Coaches.” PLAYING CAREER: Miami (Ohio), 1983-86.
COACHING CAREER: Miami (Ohio), 1987-2005; New Orleans
Saints, 2006-.

Send this to a friend